Saturday Night Genealogy Fun (SNGF) – What date was your grandfather born?

I’m participating in Randy Seaver’s Genea-Musings „Saturday Night Genealogy Fun“ (SNGF).

I was debating with myself if I should do this in German and English … and look at the time – I’ll just blog in English, I might participate again in German and not let my over-thinking get in the way next time.😉

1. What day of the week was your Grandfather born (either one)? Tell us how you found out.

Well, first of: I have three grandfathers to pick from. (More about this – here.) Two I know the certain identify of. Only one of the three grandfathers I’ve met. Therefore I’ll just go into detail with Opa Albin, the only „Opa“ (grandpa) I got to know.

Opa Albin was born on August 23rd 1912 in Riege, Kreis Deutsch Krone, Pomerania.

I got this (and other information) from the website http://geboren.am. (Actually I usually look up the day of the week as soon as I find out a date, so this is in my files, but I’m not even sure anymore where I got it from.)

August 23rd 1912 was a Friday.

Opa Albin is my mother’s father. My father has two fathers: His biological father, who I’m still trying to find and his … well, father. His name is Johann Jakob (called Jakob). The biological father was called Eddie.

Jakob was born May 20th 1904 in Worms, Hesse. Incidentally this was a Friday too.

2. What has happened in recorded history on your Grandfather’s birth date (day and month)? Tell us how you found out, and list five events.

On Opa Albin’s birth date (the exact year 1912) in the US, Bobby Dunbar disappeared. (Wikipedia-Entry.) This curious case probably only made small headlines in the bigger national newspapers in Germany. I don’t think my family in Pomerania would have heard about it.

Also taken from Wikipedia – Entry for August 23rd:

In the year 237 BC pharao Ptolemaios III. starts building the temple of Edfu.

In the year 153 BC Roman consul Quintus Fulvius Nobilior loses a whole legion (that 3,600 to 6,000 soldiers!) fighting the Celt-Iberians in Numantia; what is today in Spain.

In the year 1305 William Wallace is publically tortured to death in London.

In the year 1927 Sacco and Vanzetti are executed.

Opa Jakob:

May 20th 1631 – the sack of Magdeburg. During one of the most horrible war crimes ever, around 20,000 people are slaughtered. The newly created German verb „magdeburgisieren“ will now for centuries be used to describe total ruthless destruction.

1862 – Lincoln signs the Homestead Act.

3. What famous people have been born on your Grandfather’s birth date? Tell us how you found out, and list five of them.

On Opa Albin’s birth date (in the year 1912!) actor and dancer Gene Kelly was born.

Also sharing Opa Albin’s birth date, but not the same year:

1754 – King Louis XVI of France. He will later be executed during the French Revolution. (His wife was Marie Antoinette.)

1854 – pianist and composer Moritz (Maurice) Moszkowski.

1931 – Barbara „I dream of Jeannie“ Eden.

1946 – Keith Moon, drummer of The Who.

Opa Jakob (May 20th 1904):

1764 – Johann Gottfried Schadow – sculptor and creator of the Quadriga on top of the Brandenburg gate in Berlin.

1799 – Honoré de Balzac – French writer – „la comédie humaine“.

1908 – Jimmy Stewart – Actor.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

